Just a personal reminder .........

 ........... of a "tree chopping Tuesday" .........

The remains of a hazel tree I planted 20 years ago as a 6" (15 cms) twig.
On Tuesday morning it had reached the dizzy height of around 25' (7.5 mtrs) ..... by Tuesday evening it was around 7' (2 and a bit mtrs).

There I was up a BIG ladder, chainsaw in hand (feeling a bit wobbly - lol) - down came each of the big branches supported by Himself with a "Heath Robinson" contraption (Heath Robinson info here for those who have never heard of him).   
(Since the stroke last year Himself has real balance issues and going up ladders with chainsaws is not now in his repertoire - so those kind of things are now in MY repertoire).

The first few were easier than the last three as I was fast running out of ladder-supporting "trunks"!!    The dreaded last one was the biggest - the leaves were actually resting on our house roof and higher - I chainsawed, he supported, there was a bit of a creak, I shouted "timber" and it went ....... I scooted (stumbled) down my ladder, tried to run around to help support the weight but it fell - a sawdust and leaf-covered BikerBear ended up, on her back, on the grass under a huge branch!   
Luckily it was mostly the leafy end and no damage done - I couldn't get up though - laughing too much and thinking how pleased I was that we have a high fence around the garden and no-one could see a 66 year old woman, thinking she was 25 again, doing ridiculous things like cutting down a tree herself!!!!!

Anyhoo - the photos show the aftermath of me being a lumberjill.
All we have to do is get rid of it all - watch this space.

Sorry for the rambling ...............

~ Anni ~


Not the best quality photos in the world - and backblipped on Thursday 31 May 2018.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.