18th Century Delft with Massive Snail

My parents picked up this old Delft tile on a trip round Europe in 1948. It spent the early part of its life in a fireplace somewhere on that continent, followed by 50 years as a trivet on our family dining table in California. Now it is back in Europe, where it is one of my favourite things, holding many pleasant memories of family meals in my childhood. I also like the depiction of the scene -- Noah after the flood -- particularly the enormous snail just behind Noah.

I had meant to go out somewhere and take pictures today, but felt a little under the weather, so stayed home. I managed to do a few useful things around the house, but otherwise pretty much had a Duvet Day.

However, something my cousin Nina wrote on Facebook , about the pleasures of having electricity, made me appreciate the day more than I would have otherwise. Nina rode out Hurricane Sandy at her home in New Jersey, and was fortunate that there was no real damage to her property; but she did have quite a long time without electricity. Her lovely piece on Facebook about the pleasures of having it back (and her feelings of guilt about those who hadn't been so fortunate) was an excellent reality check, which made me appreciate my warm, dry, safe, quiet home, where I can hole up and have a Duvet Day when I need one. Wish everyone did.

DAY 837

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.