Sculpture Trail

Our plan was to go to Geyserville to see the giant horse sculpture by Bryan Tedrick . His 'studio', a large open field off Nun's Canyon road is not far from where we live and I have seen and photographed some of his sculptures before around the Sonoma Valley before.  When I read that his commission from the little town of Geyserville north of us was installed last week, we decided it was the perfect excuse to go to our favorite restaurant, Diavola, in Geyserville.

It turns out that the magnificent 25 foot tall rearing horse is part of a sculpture park next to the 101 freeway at the southern entrance to town. The camera I chose to take wasn't up to capturing the  horse, but I had a wonderful time tramping through the dry grass looking at some of the other sculptures, while OilMan sat in the car playing Sudoku on his phone. I finally coaxed him out of the car and he admitted that he enjoyed the sculptures. They are part of a larger exhibition of sculptures called the 101 Sculpture Trail temporarily installed in both Geyserville and Cloverdale, a few miles further north. 

My abstract straight-out-of-the-camera entry is called 'Cosmic Fusion' by Adrian Litman. I really liked the way it photographed against a backdrop of cloudless blue sky. We now have an excuse to return to both Geyserville and Diavola again with a different camera so that I can get a picture of the powerfully beautiful horse sculpture. It has a story all its own.

I wasn't sure we were even going to make it to Geyserville at all since my back was really painful, but the wonderful Kathy spent most of our hour working on it and it is much better. She even showed OilMan how to help me with some specific exercises. We'll see how that goes. We'll either end up ready to kill each other or laughing hysterically....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.