Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Wild Orchid

Its much hotter today than I thought it would be - one of those muggy kind of days that we often get in the summer in SE England. I think Murdoch even got too hot on his walk this morning. I spotted this little flower on the side of the road on our walk today, I think it is a wild orchid, but I am not sure.

I then bought groceries for the weekend, and with the good weather we just have BBQ's which is an easy way to cook. Although by the time we get to the end of June I am usually so tired of BBQ's! I try to make different salads each time, and this weekend I am going to attempt the healthy coleslaw made by Nathan Outlaw on Mary Berry's last TV series - the one with grated beetroot, apple and shallots and fat free Greek joghurt (I found some lactose free joghurt which is great). The recipe also calls for pickled walnuts but I am not sure if I like those.

Last night's livery company dinner was a memorable affair with all sorts of peculiar traditions to swear in the new wardens and master for the year. There were also seven wines for five courses of food....I did not partake although I could not resist a small glass of the rather excellent dessert wine, which gave me a bit of a headache this morning - although that could have been due to the late night. Consequently I am looking forward to a quiet night in relaxing in front of the TV tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.