singin' in the rain

It's been a hot, hot day, with thunderstorms forecast for the exact time that I would be cycling home from work. I pedalled along thinking that it would be quite nice to be rained on, but the sun shone on into the evening.

We were practising for our choir concert tonight in St John's Church, Dumfries, when we heard a drumming sound from the roof. Rain! I went outside to look at the unfamiliar sight..the streets were running with water.

(These are the shoes I wear for choir concerts when the dress code is purple and black. I hardly ever wear them for the rest of the year. I also very rarely wear nail polish, so here's a photo for the record.)

The rain stopped as suddenly as it had started and when we got back into the bus after the concert, the pavements were almost dry. 

I still had to pick quite a few slugs off my seedlings, though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.