A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

One!

I struggled a bit today with memories from last year. So I went back to the pictures. I know I’m cheating, but these moments are important. Henri’s first ever picture is top right. They had taken him to neonat, and were making sure he was breathing better. He’s no longer gray, but you can see blue in his hands and feet. The nurse took the picture for me, to show me my baby was doing better, as I waited in recovery.
The second picture is when they brought him to me around 3pm. We had about an hour, during which we mostly snuggled as he was too tired to feed.
And the third picture is today. There’s nothing left of his frailty that day. Yes, his heart has a tiny issue that needs to be fixed at some point, and he gets sick a lot. But he is thriving. He is strong, stands up in his own, and is the funniest baby I’ve ever seen. (Don’t tell oli that.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.