Bluheron

By Bluheron

Kendall...

photographs Oaks Bottom Wetlands from the seventh floor mausoleum window. (see extra). Eight floors of burials and ashes, fountains, notes to loved ones and and stillness, that particular kind of stillness. Some days we rub up against death more than others. The Swallowtail butterfly we saved from death in the bus shelter today. It gave us such joy to watch it flutter across the street toward trees. The conversations I have had with two different friends over the last few days. One said, "I don't think there will be anything after," and the other who said, "I believe that I will be in a sea of love with all the people that I have loved and those gone before me." I understood in a new way that each of our deaths is unique, beautifully unique, and not just us...the butterfly too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.