Evening across River Crouch from Burnham Quay

What a day. Had a terrible night , decided to go to the Doctors at the drop in clinic which delayed us leaving for Essex, delayed even more by massive jam at Dartford Crossing as we tried to escape from the county. Arrived at Burnham on Crouch at 4.00pm not 1.30 as we expected.

Had a pleasant, if for me an out of mind walk, along the Quay and saltmarsh of the estuary and a dinner which was too much for me in my parlous state. We had to bring the cheese away! It didn’t end there as we set the satnav to the wrong Travelodge, adding an extra 30 minutes and much faffing to the journey only to find single beds and noisy neighbours.

It seems like I have some unspecified infection, samples were taken and found to have microscopic particles of blood so were sent off for further analysis. I was given a prescription to get if I felt worse, told to carry on with the painkillers, drink lots and call on Monday for the results.

This Dartford Crossing is a disaster. Since the toll barriers have been removed there are still regular jams going north usually accidents and breakdowns. Today’s queue was the longest I’ve seen it, almost to J5 and it is regularly at J2 or J3. Then you’re charged for the privilege of waiting in a jam. Originally we were promised that when the crossings had been paid for the tolls would lifted. It’s a licence to make money.

Burnham is a pleasant little place, the Quay, fisherman’s cottages charming and saltmarsh interesting. The Ship Inn served a 3 course Fish Friday. I had skate wing which was huge with Jersey Royals, which I was sorry to have to leave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.