Noh Running!

When I went to Kidzania on Tuesday, I met the managing director of a local Noh theatre and she gave me a ticket to attend Noh workshops plus a  performance of the Noh play, Kakitsubata. So, after getting some lesson planning done in the morning, I went to the theatre.

The first workshop was interesting. I was taught how to play the nohkan, the flute which is played in Noh performances. It was really difficult! I just about managed to get two notes of it - about 20% of the time. Finding the correct position to place the nohkan against your chin facing your lips seemed like a matter of pure chance. The difference between producing a sound and producing no sound was imperceptible to me. The finger positioning was pure agony. I have a new respect for these musicians. Give me the taiko any day.

In the second workshop I practised singing in Noh style. I did a bit better at that, I think. The next three workshops were just lectures; one about the drum, one about the mask and one about movement. Finally, we were treated to a forty minute performance of Kakitsubata. Well, let:s just say Noh is an acquired taste. Not for me, I'm afraid. 

Here's a taster.

After sitting down all morning planning lessons, then sitting down all afternoon in the theatre, I was bursting for a run, so the extra was taken on the way back from an exhilarating 22 kilometers run. The rest of the lesson planning will have to wait until tomorrow morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.