atoll

By atoll

Parish Church of St Mary & St Cuthbert

I can't remember the last time I set foot in the Parish Church of St Mary & St Cuthbert's at Bolton Abbey, but I was so pleased to sit a while in there today. The combination of beautiful sunlight streaming-in through the stained glass windows as the sun slowly set, combined with a Gregorian Chant being played over the sound system was a powerful thing to experience.

I am not a religious person, but this was spiritual. Inevitable I suppose when you think of a history going back 900 years to it's first guise as an Augustinian Priory, and shifting almost 500 years ago when the Dissolution destroyed almost everything, bar the parish church section that exists now. You can't help but be humbled and feel the spirit in the stones.

I was there today with my mum and MrsB, and we had had a lovely walk earlier up towards the Strid Wood from the Cavendish Pavilion along my beloved River Wharfe. This was followed by a spot of lunch in the cafe overlooking the priory, and then another short walk down to the river.

At one point I thought I saw a Grayling rise to a fly, but couldn't be sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.