Fernando Cohen

By fernandocohen

Demolition and fence

This text has nothing to do with the picture (or maybe it has).

It is from the book "Out of Egypt: A Memoir", from André Aciman, and it was send by my father. Both are Jewish Egyptians from Alexandria who were forced to leave their country around the 1950s. I loved it and it is the next book I'm going to read.

And suddenly I knew, as I touched the damp, grainy surface of the seawall, that I would always remember this night, that in years to come I would remember sitting here, swept with confused longing as I listened to the water lapping the giant boulders beneath the promenade and watched the children head toward the shore in a winding, lambent procession. I wanted to come back tomorrow night, and the night after, and the one after that as well, sensing that what made leaving so fiercely painful was the knowledge that there would never be another night like this, that I would never eat soggy cakes along the coast road in the evening, not this year or any other year, nor feel the baffling, sudden beauty of that moment when, if only for an instant, I had caught myself longing for a city I never knew I loved.
Exactly, a year from now, I vowed, I should sit outside at night wherever I was, somewhere in Europe, or in America, and turn my face to Egypt, as Moslems do when they pray and face Mecca, and remember this very night, and how I had thought these things and made this vow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.