All change

No longer black and white but white and black. MrsMY rode Sultan the grey Shagya Arab today for the first time and using a Western saddle again because that was what he always has and it was thought it would be best for at least the first ride.

Sultan against all Angie's fears went and behaved like a dream and even MrsMY felt comfortable on the Western saddle which had hurt so much when she rode Rosie. Both were thrilled with the result.

Not so Luna who I met here on the Blip to collect her up. She would run until she collapsed and dreads the moment she sees me drive up. The girls didn't stop, desperate to get into the shade of the forest and away from the dreadful horse-flies discussed yesterday - both the normal and giant types were buzzing around them no doubt happy that some horses were around. The house in the background is the one bliped recently belonging to an Englishman and his German wife who seem to be away today along with their horses. Their Ifor Williams trailer was also missing.

A day of doing bees. I think I have found the problem for the continuous swarming of the last few years. I hope so at least. It was a concern MrB had when I told him a few years ago that I was relocating my hives into the general, very large fenced chicken run. He thought the chickens would disturb the bees and while I have read countless reports that say that there is no problem to be expected, the bees are under a roofed area that is always dry the entire year. The hens have scratched it bare of vegetation and find it a super 24/7/365 spot for sand earth-dust bathing. I think the dust was flying up into the hives and forcing the bees to continually try to keep the hives clean.

I hope that is the answer. Did a check and found the two original bees in good form. In the other two hives, didn't spot the queens but one hive is full of sealed brood which is a 100% sign that all is well. However, the fourth hive while very active does not have sealed brood and I will need to keep a close eye on them. I still hope they have just, or will, make a new queen. Weather is ideal for her to take the maiden flight.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.