ladyleah6

By ladyleah6

Rainbow Bee Eaters

I was thinking about bee eaters the other day and how I'd like to see some and wondering where about they hung out. Then, by chance I saw these two today at Lake Gwelup Reserve (a park I'd been meaning to check out for about a year) and got super excited. Then I got home and did some research and it turns out you get them all over Oz. Like ALL OVER. I guess I've just been unlucky the last 27 years.

Unfortunately, this is the best shot I got. They're really beautifully coloured and I wanted to show that but the lighting wasn't on my side and the more colourful shots are all out of focus.

I think one is a juvenile. The other one fed it an insect while I was watching. Another place I must certainly return to when I get back from Nepal. It's quite a big reserve and it's FULL of birds. I saw four other birds I hadn't seen before and I was only there about half an hour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.