Egg pods under a Pelargonium ardens leaf

When I looked outside on the patio steps I saw that my rather precious pelargonium ardens plants had been rather attacked by slugs or snails. Some of the leaves were battered and half eaten and there were tell-tale trails of translucent slime signifying a snail's recent presence. I brought the two potted plants in to the kitchen and cut off the damaged leaves and their stalks. 

As I inspected the remaining leaves I noticed there were some 'additions' to the undersides of two leaves. One of them was a dark assembly of something unknown, possibly eggs. But there was also a vivid green collection of these geometric cells which I assume are insect eggs, or possibly spider eggs.

I cleaned the pot which was very muddy and brought it back to its original site on the dining table close to the patio window where it loves the access to light and warmth. I'm looking forward to its tiny red flowers, but am not sure whether it is on its way out being rather woody and leggy. We shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.