Random Rug

At long last I have completed my random rug! I have been working on it off and on for most of this century. When I began it I belonged to a group that included women accomplished in woolcraft. Several members decided to make a wool rug. They used wool from their own sheep, which they carded, spun and dyed in colours required for the intricate patterns they designed. I could knit, but not much else. I wanted a mohair rug, but couldn’t afford to buy the colours I wanted, having to depend on marked down odd balls I found in wool shops. I abandoned the idea of a design, since I was dependant on what was available. At the time I was heavily into bookbinding, which is a very exacting occupation. The idea of doing something chaotic appealed and I decided to make my rug in patches that were random in size, shape, colour and pattern. I used knitting, Fair Isle, crochet and embroidery. As you ca see it turned out to be a bit of a dog’s breakfast. However it is mostly mohair so it is very light and cosy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.