Has-Beens!

I recently spied these purple lollipops in the park, so on my way to the library, on a rather chilly morning, I stopped off to grab a blip. Sadly I discovered that the Alliums are now well past their best, probably due to the recent heat, but I think they’re still not looking too bad for has-beens, unlike myself!

At the library, we talked about our two most recent reads. As I was the only one in the group who’d actually read “The God of Small Things” by Arundhati Roy (everyone else gave up after a few pages, or didn’t bother at all!), I’m reluctant to recommend it, though I did personally enjoy it. Our second book (which I loved!) remains a secret though, as it’s the same book that my book group friends are reading, all will be revealed next week. Once again, not everybody in the group had read the book. There’s a famous quote by Henry James, “Life’s too short to read a bad book”, which may be true, but when you’re in a book group surely…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.