Goodbye Farewell Amen

Today was very sad for me, my friend and long time pairs partner’s funeral was this afternoon. He lost his fight with cancer last week.

We have played pairs together for more years than we could remember sharing each other’s company sometimes in the sun very often in the summer rain but always with a laugh. Sometimes he drove me nuts and I’m sure I drove him nuts too...

When I saw him last he said “who are you going to play pairs with this year, I don’t think I will make it, this was three days before he passed away. I told him I was going to play with Fraser. He laughed through his pain saying that when I shouted at him he just ignored me and he knew Fraser would too so I’d be just fine!!!! It made me sad to hear him say it.

There was a huge turn out, a mark of the man and the regard he was held in. A little bit of the pleasure I get from playing has gone with Gordon, whilst I will enjoy playing with Fraser he has big boots to fill as Gordon and I won the pairs championship 5 times.

Gods Speed my friend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.