El Camino

By AndrewForbes

Today I experienced some remarkable serendipity :-)

A huge committee of some 60 or 70 Griffon Vultures circled over the Cortijo at breakfast time - very unusual, something I have never seen over the property in the 10 years I've had the place (Eagles, kestrels, etc yes, vultures, never)

Then, as nomal after a weekend in the country, on a Monday I headed back to the coast and home. Yet there at home was another huge group of vultures circling directly over my house...a sight that is also practically unheard of in our area, overlooking the sea.

What's more, some swooped down to fly with a few meters of me!

What a wonderful experience, seeing these peaceful, non-aggressive, graceful animals so close up.

Vultures, despite their bad press in modern popular culture in the west, are seen by many as being spiritually symbolic; representing the purification of mind, body and soul, and signalling imminent positive change and transformation. Many cultures see them as symbolic of patience, resourcefulness, protection and renewal.

What a great start to the week!

I was so dumbstruck by it all, that I totally didn't think to get my phone out of my pocket and photograph them as they flew over my head! I only got a few distant shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.