Jack's Rake

I had a lot to do today ahead of delivering workshops for the BMC and Mountain Training at this weekend's Keswick Mountain Festival...
... but the mountains were calling....

A short sharp thriller was called for, so I headed to Langdale and a proper Lakeland classic. Oddly the rock built paths currently in favour in the national park are a severe test for the ankle, so I tried to take it steadily. 30minutes to the Tarn and as I expected up had been OK, further testing needed. I could just make out two people on the Rake, they're just before the first dot on the shot in extras for scale, ahead of me no-one. Result.

I was at the base of the scramble in under an hour, incredibly, as ever, the Rake was still a bit wet. Scrambling was fine, no twinges, probably the best part of the day. As soon as I headed upward the biodiversity increased tenfold, rare little alpines safe from the fluffy white terrors. I've put a collage from the day in extras as a quiz for anyone who'd like. I could have made 3.

From the summit an amble round to Harrison and then down. All I can say is down remains not good. I used other words to myself, but not good will surfice.
From the Tarn I took the less used path to the west of the Ghyll, I didn't see a soul, but I did see dozens of dragonflies.
I'd been sure my view from the Rake in extras would be my blip, but sat with my feet in a mountain stream this scene of almost Eden like perfection stole my choice from me. Everything feels just a little bit better after moments like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.