Simpson’s Tavern

Simpson’s Tavern. Dating the present building to 1757, I sat in the bar with my fine stouted friend whilst waiting for the most excellent Mr Donnan to be accompanied by his dear son to join me and enjoy lunch together.

A young lady from Alabama served behind the bar and engaged in highly entertaining banter with the clientele. This was my first visit and it was simply fascinating. Old English charm and eccentricity to highlight how this Old Town continues to flourish.

Just prior to David arriving a well suited chap walked into the bar to meet his fellow diners in a pre lunch tipple. His pal said to him ‘How are you old boy?’ and his question was met with ‘I’m very well, considering!’

‘Considering what? his friend asked.

‘Well I’ve had, how shall I put it, an interesting year. I’m just glad to still be here.’

At this point a piano launched into song upstairs with some ragtime tune and I felt, to be frank, that I was on a Stephen Frears film set.

It’s always excellent to share lunch Blipfoto.com/entry/2451139061461550450 with fine people. Quite simply enrichment is all about filling your senses with things that can fill the soul. I left wanting for nothing.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.