Big Sis to the rescue

A lovely day celebrating the life of my second cousin Karen who we lost to breast cancer a couple of months ago. Always nice to see my cousins, aunts and uncles and my cousin’s adorable children but a shame it was a sad occasion.

After 4.5 hours travelling with Mum I was about to head home when I discovered my brother was stranded in the Ashdown Forest after running 50 miles along the Vanguard Way from Croydon to the North Downs in East Sussex.

Navigation was proving an issue not helped by overgrown bridal paths with sticky ferns and a lack of signage. The light was fading so I did what all great sisters would do and rescued him. 3 hours of driving later I finally returned home to Kent happy in the knowledge my ‘little’ brother was home safe.

Family matters more than anything. I’m constantly feeling guilty for not seeing my loved ones more and I often feel sad at the end of the day when I have to say goodbye. Priority to see family more this summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.