I dig, dig, dig!

More digging on the allotment! Another bed uncovered and two very big slow worms disturbed! More stones dug out and raspberry roots cleared. I took a break with my fellow allotment and we had a walk round the whole site too see what the other plotters had been doing. Unfortunately half way round my stomach went squirly so time to go home! A shame as I only had a small bit to finish digging and then it would have been ready for planting my kale! 
The poppies have started popping up all over my plot - the forget-me-knots,   iris and aquilegia have all had their moment and now it's the turn of the foxgloves and poppies! 
Back home I was entertained by the birds in my back garden - well by one in particular. I recently moved my Gothic mirror so it is against the back gate and behind the bird feeders. Well ever since this has highly interested/confused a Dunnock. I had raised the mirror with some bricks and a plank of wood, and this one sparrow sits on the plank jumping up at the mirror then it flies up to the top and flutters at the glass. It does this repeatedly during it's frequent daily visits! All the other birds are happily feeding and are not  remotely interested - not the pigeons, collared doves, thrush, blackbird, robin,bluetits, coaltits nor the house sparrows! Odd eh?!
P.s. continued a Google search on this behaviour and found out they are very solitary and  territorial so maybe that explains it. They also have a varied relationship with females and an active sex life,  mating with several and often coexisting with another male and a female - one of the males is the alpha! Also cuckoo's like to lay an egg in their nests!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.