Clouds

Some amazing clouds this afternoon. Must be an indication of fine weather, as it has been a lovely day and looks set to be the same for a few days. 

Women’s Prize for Fiction
Although I read the books on the shortlist, I haven’t said much about them, as I felt too many of my blips were book-orientated. Ironically, the year that I don’t publicly predict the winner and say it is also the one I would have chosen – that is the book that takes the award! 

Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie
I loved this book and felt that it just had to win, despite the fact that it was a very strong shortlist, with some excellent books, all worth reading. (More about them here)

Kamila Shamsie is a brilliant writer – this is her seventh novel, some people may have read Burnt Shadows or A God in Every Stone. She was excellent at the Readings – a clever, thoughtful lady. Home Fire is a fine book, well written and well plotted. It tells the story of different members of a British Muslim family, a story of identity, conflicting loyalties, love and politics. The judges called it ‘the story of our times’ and it is certainly topical. (Shamsie was in the news a short time ago, as she had unknowingly anticipated a British Muslim home secretary.) 

I can recommend this to anyone, male and female. It is one of those books that illustrates why I think fiction is so important, especially in turbulent times. Not as an escape, but as a means of gaining some understanding of how others see the world – ‘humanising a political story’ and ‘challenging our lazy thinking’ (Alison Flood in The Guardian). And a little more understanding and empathy would not come amiss in the world today. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.