Skimmer....

....a female 12-spotted skimmer, to be exact. I read that they're migratory, so they may just be passing through. Tom came with me this morning to run errands--library, grocery store, post office--then a stop up along the bluffs. We stood and watched the seagulls diving for fish down below, (one picture in extras, only because one of the gulls is totally under water) and some small brown birds that were really fast and seemed to have some nests in the bluffs (I'm not great at bird ID-ing if I haven't seen them before, and they were WAY too fast for me to tell what they were, but fun to watch.)  I wandered around in the weeds, trying to find a dragonfly I'd seen flying around, but I couldn't find it, or any dragonfly for that matter! Finally I told Tom I was ready to go, as I didn't have the patience to look any longer. We started walking down the path toward the car, and darned if I didn't turn my head to the right, and there she was, perched on this branch. I'd take a picture and ease closer....picture... closer.... until I was only about a foot away from her. I took one more, and off she went. Mighty accommodating of her!! :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.