a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Moses supposes ...

Abstract Thursday: Moses supposes ...

"Moses supposes his toeses are Roses,
But Moses supposes Erroneously,
Moses he knowses his toeses aren't roses,
As Moses supposes his toeses to be."

Tongue Twister featured in Singin' the Rain

Creating todays abstraction of a shot of the patio rose has involved my messing around in Affinity Photo and, after a while, the workflow process became as convoluted as this tongue twister.  

I can't imagine that anyone is going to try this for themselves, but I've made a note of what I think that I've done below, as it might be useful for me if I ever want to try this approach again!

1.  Duplicate the original image (always work with a copy of the original just in case);

2.  I've then split the duplicate image into a high and low frequency version with the high frequency layer blended with vivid light.  I've not tried this before. 

3.  I've again duplicated the original layer and used that new duplicate as a top layer.  This top layer has had the find edges filter applied and the layer has been bended using the subtract option.

4.  I've yet again duplicated the original layer as a new top layer blended with the soft light option.

5.  We're getting close now!  I've merged all the layers (but not the one original image saved just in case) which is now saved as a new layer.

6.  At this stage the image is not a million miles away from the above.  I've actually used another find edges layer and a final duplicate of the layer at 5 blended with the colour option to produce the final version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.