Kayaking the Lewis River

I went kayaking with my friend K today, we went up the east fork of the Lewis River.  The water was still pretty high but very calm and easy paddling.  I took several photos on the waterproof camera one of which I was sure would be my blip today, but I changed my mind and added this one from the iPhone.  

As we were getting our kayaks out of the water, a truck came down the boat ramp and started pouring little fish about 4 inches into the river.  He was very efficient and didn't want to stand around long chatting.  He stated that they were wild fish not farm raised from one of the high lakes in the area.  He also stated that they were stringers (I must have misunderstood) I was unsure why they would stock the river with fish from the lake rather than stock the lake,  I been on the internet and must say I still don't know much more.  I think they must have been trout from my reading, stringers are something you put the fish on when you have caught them.  So you may have guessed I'm not a fisherman but it was all very fun to watch.

EDIT:  Husband came home and when I told him about this, he said it was "springer" as in a spring fish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.