Day to day today

By Jewels4663

Paddle!

Went across to Folkestone today. Had lunch at Rocksalt, which was lovely but extortionate (my friend thought it wasn't so lovely and extortionate, but I think I made a better choice than her!), then went for a walk along the front.

It was incredibly rough and, madly, there were surfers out - it was FREEZING! Then we spotted this guy, who had fastened himself into his kayak/canoe but was waiting for the waves to come him to carry him out - and he waited for quite a while!

Further along, the waves were crashing over the walkway - it always amazes me that people see that happening, then go right to the edge with their kids and dogs to get a better look (and to get their kids and dogs swept away, if they're not careful).

We then went along to a discussion as part of the Folkestone Literary Festival with Mary McCartney and James Wong. I have Mary's book, 'Food', which is great - I'm not a veggie, but it's got some really great, tasty but easy recipes in there. James was fascinating - I shall be growing saffron and New Zealand yams next year, although I think I might give wasabi a miss! I ordered his book when I got home to read more into the Homegrown Revolution, and got Mary to sign the one I have - she was very lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.