Starling chick

Because there are so many starlings in my area, and because I can see up to 50 birds at a time in my garden, I find it almost hard to believe that they are red listed birds and that they have all but disappeared in many parts of the country.

I don’t think it is known exactly as to why the population of the birds overall is in decline, but I got this from the BTO website: 

“Loss of permanent pasture, which is the species' preferred feeding habitat, and general intensification of livestock rearing are likely to be having adverse effects on rural populations, but other causes should be sought in urban areas. As the population has dropped, the numbers of fledglings per breeding attempt has increased markedly; clutches are now larger, and rates of nest loss have fallen.”

According to the RSPB website more than 70 per cent of eggs laid produce fledged young. Because the nests are in holes, they are protected from predators and many other dangers. 

The fledged chicks are a drab dull brown and I suppose that helps them to go unnoticed. They moult in autumn and gain the spotty adult winter plumage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.