Battery exhausted

There was only one song that sprang to mind as I cycled uphill into the headwind and driving drizzle of 0-2% chance of precipitation. 

For two hours.

A-ha

But, with not a flying creature to dive into my lungs nor another cyclist to clamp me shut, I sang my little heart out. Probably more to get me through the hours than because I was in my element but it did seem to work. I don’t think my 'endurance' bike really means 'for testing ones character' but it did make me chuckle that at least I was on one!

I was exploring the North Yorks Moors from a farmhouse campsite in Fadmoor, up to Danby and across to Whitby coming home in a lovely loop. I crossed 5 fords, only one of which got my wheels wet, the others were dry or had a footbridge - but it may just indicate the up and down nature of the ride. I’m much more used to two to four big ups and downs so these more regular shorter steep ups and downs has really hit my legs. 

When I neared Whitby, my prayers were answered as the rain stopped and I descended and air dried to the cafe. (Once I found a cafe that served jackets not fish and chips, that is!) 

On taking a look at my only photo, my camera promptly told me, battery exhausted. Laughing, I realised it was just me to get us all home. I think it must have properly died because I only charged it yesterday. I did like my 'three bridge corner' photo and the reminder it gives me not to stuff my face with a bar without chewing and swallowing before hitting a 25% road. It wasn’t pretty!  But I did just try one other view across the moorland and down to one of the many fords.  I didn’t think it had taken as it quickly reminded me that it was more spent than me.  It’s my lucky shot; it saved, so here it is!

My own battery is now exhausted too as I wallow in the bath apologising to yesterday’s dry needled glutes for the grief I’ve put them through. They seem to have fared remarkably well - may even have done them some good!

The end of another fabulous house on wheels adventure with perhaps a dash of Type II Fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.