Sevilla D39 - Walking

"Walking" was a big part of our stay here: an average of 7-8 mi per day and more steps than my watch ever registered before ;)

My suitcase is just about done -- just last minute sundries to drop in there when I leave tomorrow. I'm at once happy to return home and sad to leave here: it's truly an endearing place and so are the Sevillanos I met in the past six weeks. 

Lots of celebrations today: 
* one last stop at La Ina -- the coffee shop around our language institute where we took a 'pausa' every day; by the time we left, the guys there knew our names and order preferences. A jolly bunch! (see extra)
* a little award ceremony with our language instructors, where we each got a certificate and were taught a few "Sevillana dance" moves (I'll spare you the pix on that) ;)
* an amazing last lunch together, followed by a sobre mesa (just time spent chit-chatting and bantering after food)

And finally, our two lovely Spanish teachers took me shopping for a dress for my daughter's upcoming wedding. That was wonderfully sweet of them and my latest acquisition is now packed up :)

Tomorrow, late afternoon, I fly out to Brussels where I'll overnight before flying back to DC.  That just gives me time in the morning to go get some jamón ibérica de bellota to sample with family back home :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.