springlilly

By springlilly

Highlight

Silloth had a vintage rally this weekend, so had a walk round it this morning & saw some very nice vintage cars. We visited Liz’s neighbour, Dorothy’s garden, it was very impressive, cottage garden style & evidently an awful lot of work goes into it, it should be open to the public as a fundraiser, but Liz couldn’t persuade Dorothy to do so, yet!
After dinner, my mission was to see the Barn Owl again, at 7.58 pm it made an appearance on the new owl box (far end of the field) & quickly flew off, returning at 8.03 pm with a kill & went back into the owl box. I was trying to also keep an eye on the nearer old owl box (Wednesday evening’s sighting), with little expectation, but all of a sudden, at 8.10 pm, I noticed a Barn Owl at it, but unlike Wednesday evening there was no stretching, it flew off in the same direction as Wednesday evening, but I couldn’t get my lens on it & then it went out of view & didn’t return in the 1.5 hours I was out watching this evening. What a privilege to have seen them on 4 separate occasions on my visit. There is even evidence of more owl droppings on a box in the barn above the horse’s stables.
I know it isn't the clearest photo, but it is very special to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.