Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Blue

This is one of my favourite flowers. They've planted a new lot this year in Benmore Gardens, so I came on it before I'd started looking for it. Meconopsis is a genus of flowering plants in the family Papaveraceae. It was first described by French botanist Viguier in 1814 who named it as poppy-like. The species have attractive flowers and have two distinct ranges.  (Wikipedia).

I've only ever seen them in these gardens, and I've certainly not been aware of purple ones or deeper blue, fuller varieties. This one suits me well, as Hamlet might have said, and I regret that I've never been able to keep poppies going.

Another day of domestic accomplishment: I made bread, washed our bedclothes ; replenished the larder. I stripped and remade the bed - and it was hot enough to dry the sodden towels. And now I have to think about getting up for church tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.