An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

'Bring Me Sunshine' - PLEASE!

I paid real money to get a bus much further down the River Avon than the previous day's image; my phone weather app promised a breakthrough in the dull gloom by 4.

At 5 I sat inside Ibsley's lovely old thatched "Old Beams" pub/restaurant, nursing a coke and packet of Nobby's nuts, as it almost drizzled outside.

At 6 I found quite a comfortable spot sitting on a wooden stile step on the Avon Valley long distance footpath - and watched the grey slab of cloud NOT moving by.

Mobile then said sun by 8.

Would I, should I, wait?

Good thing I didn't, as even when I got back home and beyond, the sun never did break through. However, when you are sitting by a beautiful river bank, not changing, for an hour, you do get a bit creative, or try to, with some maximum aperture studies of cow parsley viewed through cow parsley.

Oh, well, the English summer, we can't always have it all.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.