AJC

By AJC

Scavaig Inversion

I came face to face with the herd as I crested the hill. I'd been meeting this group in various configurations all week on my dawn wanderings but this was the first time I'd seen the whole herd. Only a young buck but the stag had done well for himself and had nine hinds in tow. Although his hormones weren't in full flow he made it clear he wasn't happy with me being this close to his hinds, positioning himself between them and me. I gave him a wide berth, looping south towards Soay before dropping down the hill to Scavaig. He watched me go and then led the hinds away to the north over the hill. I still spent the rest of the morning turning round every 60 seconds to check he wasn't sneaking up behind me. Disclosure: Composite image. 


I'd seen the inversion when I woke before dawn and peered through the curtains. It was strongest to the east, but just managing to cover the base of Soay, fading away rapidly going up Scavaig. I fiddled and faffed to try to get a good shot but as with the rest of the week, spent a fair amount of energy lamenting "the wrong sort of fog". In the end, as the light improved and the fog faded rapidly, I gave up and shot this before heading up the hill for breakfast, trailing my enormous midge cloud behind me. 


Sony ILCE-7RM2
FE 70-300mm F4.5-5.6 G OSS
f9 70mm 1/400 ISO 100 
6 shot panorama stitched in Photoshop. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.