The Chamois Crèche

Female chamois, (see extra) looking very podgy, were eating their fill on a mini peak above Leysin and I assumed their young had not been born yet. However, after the females had wandered off and I had put my long lens away, I almost walked into a crèche of about 12 babies left in the care of two adults. It is not easy to scrabble around in your rucksack and change the lens silently, especially lying behind a prickly bush! This is the only focussed photo (sorry about the foreground) I managed to take before the adult realised something was up and led her charges into the trees. These chamois are so young, not even little horn buds starting to grow yet. Now I know where the crèche is, I must go more silently and be prepared next time.

Can't comment tonight, having an allergic reaction to something and can't stop sneezing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.