Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Lovely little linnet

I was very restless last night and kept waking up. At 6am I was fed up and got up for something to eat. As it was such a beautiful morning I decided to get out early before the crowds. By 7am I was wandering around Spike Island all by myself and it was wonderfully peaceful. 
The cute little rabbits were plentiful as were the parents feeding their chicks. I could hear the woodpeckers in the trees but could not locate them, but did manage to see great tits, whitethroats, Mistle thrush, meadow pipit, coots, starlings and this lovely colourful linnet on the marsh. I was really looking for the kingfisher that someone photographed yesterday, but he was nowhere to be seen of course. 

My elder brother who lives in New Zealand arrived this afternoon, and despite him getting only 3 hours sleep in the past 36 hours of flights, he still had plenty to say and it was difficult to get a word in - he's not changed a bit!! 
He's staying at my parents house a few miles away and has plans to catch up with his old schoolfriends from 30 years ago to watch the World Cup at the pub when it starts later this week.....it will all end in tears....it always does with England!
We had a nice family meal and finally he's decided to get some sleep...

What a great weekend we've had - such a shame we have to go back to work tomorrow. :(

Hope everyone has had a nice weekend too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.