horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

The Hare and the Tortoise

With typically fantastic timing I went out for a lunchtime wander to get some snowfall shots, and the snow stopped, then as soon as I reached the door of the office again it stopped snowing. Besides, I was trudging in a determinedly foul mood - not just a Monday back at work, but having a snowball thrown in your face from two yards by a kid walking to school kinda wakes you up in the morning.

Now I know kids and snow equals snowballs, but the simple fact of the matter is throwing a hard-packed snowball from a couple of yards straight into the face of someone cycling on a slippery surface with a car just behind them... Well it's a bit mental. I'm not proud of the fact that i turned the air blue. As a rule I don't generally swear that much (which, yes, doesn't fit in with the grumpy persona) but I made an exception this morning - realising there was very little else I could do. Save write a letter to the school.

All happened within 30 seconds of me leaving for work, with the rest of the day spent with an aching jaw and a burgeoning headache. At least it gave me the rest of the ride to calm down, and the ride in the snow was great (I'm hoping for even more so i've got to break out the mountain bike tomorrow).

Anyway, to the picture above. Well it appears my scanner is playing up (I've never tried it on the new(ish) computer). So I had to take a pic of the doodle which is going to become another t-shirt sold through my cycling site. It's been a while since I've added some new designs, so I thought I'd get a few online (probably three) for the new issue at the end of the month.

And I can start the week afresh tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.