Rear view

This is the other side of the view from the house that I blipped on 4th June and shows a little bit of the view that would be possible if the wretched thuja tree was got rid of.

Behind me, there is a complete thick 20 meter + high "hedge" of mixed deciduous and evergreen trees and shrubs that border the property. So it's not as if the thuja plays any significant role in sight & sound protection. Oh well, I may yet use the method suggested by someone and hammer in some copper nails into the bark and when it dies, claim it must have been due to drought or flood.

One can't see the thuja in this photo as there are the willow and a couple of other deciduous trees and even a spruce (that is also on my chainsaw wishlist). The other trees would look better if the thuja was out of the way. Includes two linden (lime) trees which are overcrowded and lopsided due to the overcrowding. Shame as the bees love the linden flowers even if they get drunk and somewhat disorientated - they only have a 20-metre flight home though.

If I can't attack trees I did at least do some hedge cutting and shrub pruning. I felt the daggers in my back as I did it but was determined at least to do a bit of tidying up and rejuvenation work. Even secretly used the hedge trimmer to destroy some nettles and thistles which have protected rights in "our" garden.

Mowing the field in the Blip was not disapproved of though so that was a success and the chickens enjoyed chasing various bugs that were left behind in the short grass.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.