Strawberry Studios

I had to go to Stockport today to get my windscreen replaced. I got a large crack 10 days ago but it was only today that Autoglass could do the work. The delay was caused by the fact that the screen needed to be calibrated because of the various features incorporated into it. I have been without a car since it happened.

While I was waiting I went for a wander around Stockport and came across the legendary Strawberry Studios. Back in 1967 there were no professional recording studios outside London until Inter-City studios was established above a shop in the centre of Stockport. Within a few months they had moved to more suitable premises in Waterloo Road. One of the partners in the studio was Eric Stewart who was then a member of the Mindbenders but went on to form 10CC who recorded all their albums here. The studios were named after his favourite record, Strawberry Fields Forever.

Joy Division recorded their debut album, Unknown Pleasures here and it was also used by many other artists including The Smiths, Stone Roses, Buzzcocks, Neil Sedaka and the Bay City Rollers amongst many others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.