My Boy

Twenty-six years ago today, our son was born. We were at a friend's flat in Natal, RN, Brazil. I woke up in labour, waited a couple of hours for his Dad and big sister to wake up, had breakfast, took her to a friend's and went to hospital. The obstetrician said it wouldn't be till night, so went off to swim in a hotel pool. Immediately, the contractions were so constant and fierce that it took all my husband's effort to get me up the steps and out, and dressed. Drove back to hospital and he was born almost immediately, whilst I was arguing with the paediatrician about wanting my husband to stay with me, and with the nurse that I did not want pain relief...

He worked at the nursing home today a 14hr shift; we kept the kids up to eat his celebration meal with him. We love him loads, and I am very proud of the person he has become.

Happy Birthday, love!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.