Branching out

Today I have been doing homework - a salutary experience for someone who occasionally sets it for other people. I find it immensely tedious doing things because the exam board says I must prove I can.

It's for a very low-level course in community interpreting. I don't want to be an interpreter but I enrolled partly because I thought it would help me develop my workplace's interpreting policy and practice, partly because although I can think in two languages, it frustrates me that they do not meet in the middle and I hoped to learn some techniques to help me interpret when I need to, and partly because I thought it would show me some interesting things about language. It's doing all those things, and more - I'm fascinated being the only white British person in a class where we talk about culture. But I really don't like homework!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.