Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Sky Dragon

The bug numbers do appear to be down lately, this could be the season or just the fact that I am consistently getting out the house before 6am and the bugs are just not ready for Cecil B. to do his work. I am slightly concerned because Esta is coming for a safari in a couple of weeks and I don't want to disappoint. But, as usual the bugs arrive albeit in dribs and drabs and in the end I was spoilt for blip choice.

I chose this dragon because it is not often I get the chance of an overhead dragon shot and it did turn out rather well.

I tried out a new trick today. Dragons land with their wings spread out and make a spectacular image, however, you have only got a second or so before the wings are parked sloping down. Dragons require precise focusing, so this shot hardly ever works.

The trick was to wave at the dragon, just enough to put her on alert, but not to scare away. This alertness lasts about ten seconds, plenty of time to get the shot. I was able to repeat this trick half a dozen times before she tired of me. This trick works well on some bugs, like mantids, to get them to look at the camera, but this is the first time that I have tried it on a dragon.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.