Just one forgotten switch...

After a great night's sleep, a 1 meter commute and the standard bobtail over to pick up my trailer well...The crew that loaded the trailers forgot to unlock mine from the building...

Well since I had forgotten my cellphone charger at home, and my cellphone being dead, I couldn't call and ask for someone to show up early to unlock it nor could I call the first customer and said I would be late. So while waiting for another driver to show up and use his phone to call, I started to look around and think...

I saw that the green light was on the warehouse door which was odd. It's supposed to be red and locked. I knew the company had a security system but did someone forget to arm it? Only one way to find out. So I gave the door a quick tug and it opened up. Thinking great, I'll turn the switch off and be on my way.. Nope, a very loud alarm went off.

My thoughts turned to being surrounded in a place I shouldn't be and having to explain why.. So I didn't go inside, closed the door, and stood out in the open with my hands clearly visible, knowing that the security officer would be there momentarily.

Once he knew I was the one who tripped the alarm, many phone calls were made and I explained what happened. Now somebody had to come down and disarm it. A long story short is I got out of there one hour before someone is normally there and made it to the first customer with a few moments to spare..

I'm glad to say the rest of the day was uneventful. The photo shows the lock secured to the trailer bumper.

Hopefully tomorrow goes nice and easy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.