Shropshirelad

By Shropshirelad

Table mountain

I decided to sneak quickly out of the conference today to visit Table Mountain, which dominates the sky line of Cape Town and is one of the must see places in the city.

I didn’t have time to climb the mountain so I cheated by taking the cable car to the top. The views were spectacular over Cape Town and out to Robben Island where Nelson Mandela was kept imprisoned for two decades during the apartheid era.

But I decided that my Blip should focus on the Pied Crows. These magnificent birds are about the size of a large rook and were diving and soaring through the air on the strong winds that blast the side of the mountain side. They seemed to be making nests but every so often would drop some twigs or bracken, I wasn’t sure if they were doing it on purpose. This evening we went to a traditional restaurant with a 14 course menu of foods from across Africa. I think the Zambian Kondolo sweet potato balls were my favourite. We also each had a drum to play some songs with the band before the meal began. All in all a very enjoyable day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.