My Mum

This old photograph was the other one which I borrowed to photograph when we went to check on my great-aunt's house.

Auntie Betty had this photo of her two cousins, stored with the same love and care as the other family treasures. My sister is sure she has seen this before, but I wasn't.

I love the pose. My Mum, sitting protectively by her younger sister, who is handling the book with great care. I can imagine the photographer using the prop with an element of trepidation.

They got on very well, did these sisters. Grandma and Grandpa had great aspirations for the girls and they both earned scholarships to Manchester Girls High School. They told uproarious tales of travelling on the train from Walkden - smiling sweetly as other passengers tried the handle while they had their feet firmly in place to ensure they couldn't get in - and worse.

Both studied at Manchester University and my mother told tales of fire watching over the city during the war.......

Both went on to teach and had successful careers, as well as loving families.

Now that's what I call success.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.