CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Hammond's Farm's fields and woods, by Wick Street

Late this afternoon I drove to John and Liz's home on the west side of the Painswick valley at a place called Stokenhill. I was returning a drill I'd borrowed last week and I also brought over a small plant that I thought Liz might like. Tea was had in their beautiful garden filled with flowers and protected from the westerly winds by a wall and hedge.

When I left to return home, I walked through the garden gate and this is the view you see. It is also the same scene from their wide kitchen window. I wanted to photograph it again today as the spring has been so good for the landscapes and in places the sun was just managing to shine through the scudding cloud covers. 

Half way up the far hillside, running along a contour on the side of the valley is Wick Street, the ancient route northwards up the valley. Often the position of such a road would mark the junction point between different rocks outcropping at that point. Here there is a predominance of  carboniferous limestone  strata adjacent to clay strata. You can follow its line where the remaining larger trees are growing along the road's hedgerow, just below the fields where the hay has already been baled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.