If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

30 Days Wild Day 13 - Wild Strawberry

The weather didn't turn out as bad as forecast, so in among my various spells of "getting things done" I took a walk out of the village in a different direction to those I have taken so far in "30 Days Wild".

One thing this challenge is showing me is how much flora differs in habitats which are very close together.  Part of my walk took me along what was at one time the main road into the village.  A new road bypassed it many years ago.

The narrow road, now nearly entirely covered by grass, had been cut down into the hill to reduce the gradient.  On one side there was a wall a couple of metres high, now covered entirely in moss.  This little habitat had plants I haven't seem on my other "wanders"  variuos ferns and this little wild Strawberry (Fraganaria vesca).

Surprisingly the strawberry is a member of the Rosaceae (rose) family.  Contrary to some opinions they are edible, they hybridise easily and obviously have a long history of being eaten, since the stone age in fact.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.