Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Seen it before?

Some of you will have seen an image/ images from this series before. (In fact you might actually have been one of the figures walking along the beach - the original photo was taken a long time ago!) The print is liked by many, so I decided to print up a few more before our Christmas selling exhibition later this month. The problem is that so many things can go wrong at the print stage - like who last set-up the print rollers and whether it was left with quite enough pressure or not - a fraction can make quite a difference. I think I mentioned last Thursday that my print session hadn't gone too well, so today I've been experimenting with pastels - I love the feel of them and the way the colour goes on. I originally bought the pastels to use on top of paint, but this seems to work well enough. (The colour is not quite accurate as I haven't spent enough time adjusting it - it's brighter on screen than the original.) Anyway this one has changed again since I took this photo.

I've ended up feeling quite pleased with the results - I've been working on two different versions of this print. It will be interesting to see peoples reactions to what has become a mixed media image. Perhaps I need to try experimenting with more textured paper - the pastels will look good on that.

I was going to write something else but it's completely gone! Such is the state of my ageing brain - oh I remember it was something about not sleeping well last week and being tired by the afternoon when I was running off the latest prints!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.