RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

Black-Crowned Night-Heron

I had a small group for my outdoor photography class today. We worked the preserve and examined techniques for wildlife photography. I also demonstrated using a telephoto lens for macro shots, and showed the use of smart phones for digi-scoping. We had a great morning with these three finds standing out.

The main photo is a juvenile Black-Crowned Night-Heron. We accidentally flushed it from the creek, and I demonstrated stalking skills to find it in a near-by tree. It was exciting to see one on the preserve.

The two extras are a Olive-sided Flycatcher - the first I've ever seen on the preserve, and a "hopping" White-breasted Nuthatch, of which we have many, but catching it as it hopped along the tree was quite nice.

Enjoy! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.