Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

In Our Dingly Dell

We went to Melrose this morning for a look at the Book Festival and bought tickets for an discussion this evening, featuring Ian Rankin on the subject of Muriel Spark.  

This afternoon I've been doing not very much other than fighting my way down to the wilder part of the garden in search of a blip. It hardly qualifies for the name of garden as it is more or less abandoned to its own devices these days. We call it, tongue-in-cheek 'the Dingly Dell'.

I had in mind that it is Flower Friday, and also Wildflower Week, and that, if they were still surviving and I could find them, this clump of Northern Marsh Orchids would fit the bill on both counts. And lo and behold, there they were. I was so excited I fell into the stream bed, luckily dryish at the moment, but when I sat down to take the picture I discovered where the water is coming up. 

I've always called these spotted orchids, because the leaves are spotty - as you can see in the extra, but Google has put me right. 

Thanks to Anni(BikerBear) and Miranda1008 for hosting the challenges.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.